Meet JaQuan!

Clay Buddies: JaQuan LaPierre

Hi JaQuan! Where are you from?

I am from Elizabeth, New Jersey.

How did you come to work at East Fork?

I was in search of something stable. A good friend of mine that goes by the name of Philip told me about East Fork. I left my previous job because they were not appreciating my work ethic. I started at East Fork on April 15, 2019.

How is working at East Fork different from your previous jobs?

At East Fork, we go out of our way on a daily basis to show how much we value and appreciate each other’s work. We show this in the simplest ways, such as cooking for each other twice a week and providing snacks, as well as consistently asking questions to try to improve the company. The moment I signed my application papers I felt like I found a second home—one where I can feel good about coming to work and giving my all. I never feel like anyone is judged based on their race or color. And East Fork is family oriented. People never really asked about my family at my previous jobs. I feel like I can build strong healthy relationships here in East Fork.

Do you ever feel like you’re in the zone when you’re working? Like you fall into a flow state?

I love working with my hands. It is really a stress reliever putting my hands to work. Working at East Fork, I found something I can feed my family as well as work with my hands. I love going to work and doing what I do. When I come to work I automatically fall into my zone. I listen to music, which helps me keep my mind clear and focused on the task at hand. While I’m in the zone, I imagine all the things that I want to do with my family and that’s what makes me go even harder because not only am I doing this for me, I am doing it for my family as well.

Tell me a little more about your kids!

I have two kids of my own and one that I claim to be mine because I’ve been in her life since she was four months old. I look at her like my own and I treat her like she’s mine. She looks at me like I am her father. Every child deserves to have their father in their life. I actually have a daughter that is back home in Jersey and I go there every summer and for school breaks. The two lil girls [in the photos] are my daughter and adopted daughter.

What are your five favorite things?

My five favorite things is my family, work, my car, my job, and peace of mind.

JaQuan's favorite things in life: his family.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.